Polls close at 7 p.m. in the special runoff election to seat a new Weslaco District 4 city commissioner.

Two men are vying for the seat after no clear winner emerged in last month’s four-way special election to fill the unexpired term left when former Commissioner Gerardo “Jerry” Tafolla resigned in May.

District 4 voters are being tasked with choosing between Adrian Farias and Guadalupe “Lupe” Garcia.

City Weslaco District 4 Commissioner candidate Adrian Farias campaigns outside of a polling place at Weslaco City Hall Tuesday, July 16, 2019, in Weslaco. (Joel Martinez | [email protected])

Farias previously ran for office in 2013, against current Weslaco Mayor David Suarez. Garcia has also tried his hand at campaigning, running last November as Tafolla’s sole challenger.

With 285 votes, Farias won the largest percentage of votes in last month’s special election, where a total of 644 ballots were cast. Garcia had the second most, with 175.

Two other challengers, Humberto “Beto” Chavez and Roy Hernandez Jr. won 123 votes and 61 votes, respectively.

In the runoff between Farias and Garcia, a total of 583 ballots were cast during the two-week early voting period that concluded Friday, county elections records show. By contrast, just 503 cast their ballots during early voting in the July 16 election that led to today’s runoff.

There are abou 4,000 registered voters in Weslaco’s District 4.

Polls at the Weslaco Business Visitor & Event Center, 275 S. Kansas Ave., will remain open until 7 p.m. today.