Local congressmen to be sworn in today

Following an en masse oath of office, Reps. Filemon Vela, D-Brownsville, Henry Cuellar, D-Laredo, and Vicente Gonzalez, D-McAllen, are scheduled to be sworn into the 116th Congress, according to a news release.

Performed by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, the congressmen will each take part in individual swearing-in ceremonies at the United States Capitol around noon EST, the release states.

It will be the first time Democrats control the majority in the House of Representatives since 2011.

The swearing-in ceremonies will be streamed live here.