MVHS’s Landry Gilpin first RGV player to win Mr. Texas Football

Mission Veterans quarterback Landry Gilpin (12) attempts to avoid a tackle from San Antonio Wagner defensive lineman Dejoun Price (52) during a Class 5A Division I regional final at the Alamodome on Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018, in San Antonio. (Joel Martinez | [email protected])

Mission Veterans High School quarterback Landry Gilpin was named Mr. Texas Football Player of the Year on Monday by Dave Campbellā€™s Texas Football.

Gilpin is the first Rio Grande Valley football player to win the award and joins the likes of Heisman Trophy winners Kyler Murray and Johnny Manziel who earned the distinction.

Watch the announcement via Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Facebook Live:

It's UIL State Week! Plus, Mr. Texas Football announcement and Coach of the Year announcement!

Posted by Dave Campbell's Texas Football on Monday, December 17, 2018