All-Valley Sports Awards Banquet set for Saturday

Thirty-three awards honoring the best players, teams and coaches in Rio Grande Valley high school athletics will be handed out Saturday during the 2017 All-Valley Sports Awards Banquet at Mario’s Banquet & Conference Center in Mission.

Former San Antonio Spurs forward Robert Horry will be the keynote speaker at the event, which is being put on with help from presenting sponsor Lone Star National Bank.

The Banquet, hosted by and AIM Media Texas in conjunction with the RGV Sports Hall of Fame, will highlight winners across all 12 UIL sports. The highly prestigious Tom Landry Award of Excellence will honor a student-athlete for outstanding achievements on and off the field.

The Monitor, Valley Morning Star, The Brownsville Herald, Mid-Valley Town Crier and RGV Sports Hall of Fame voted to determine the winners in the sports categories. While The Monitor, the Star and the Herald have previously named their All-Area teams in certain sports, the All-Valley Sports Awards Banquet will recognize the very best across all three coverage areas.

The catered banquet will run 6 to 8 p.m.

Horry won seven NBA Championships and earned the moniker “Big Shot Rob” for clutch performances during his 16-year NBA career that included stints with the Spurs, Houston Rockets, Phoenix Suns and Los Angeles Lakers.

Lone Star National Bank, first opened in Pharr in 1983, has grown to include more than 600 employees at 33 locations across South Texas. As part of its mission statement, Lone Star National Bank is committed to “helping our communities grow, and serving them with pride and integrity,” according to the bank’s website.

“Lone Star National Bank has a history of being a great community steward,” The Monitor Publisher Stephan Wingert said. “We are pleased to announce that Lone Star National Bank will be the presenting sponsor for the 2017 All-Valley Sports Awards Banquet. Thanks to their support, we will be able to celebrate the Valley’s best and brightest student-athletes.”

2017 All-Valley Awards Nominations


Boys Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Daniel De La Cruz, Donna North

Brandon Gracia, Rio Grande City

Tristan Pena, Edinburg North

Girls Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Beth Ramos, Edinburg North

Brianna Robles, La Joya Palmview

Tina Sierra, La Feria

Volleyball Player of the Year

Jackie Kingsbury, Los Fresnos

Taylor Marburger, McAllen Memorial

Julia Monday, McAllen High

Football Player of the Year

Diego Hernandez, Mission Veterans

Roy Pedraza, Weslaco East

Omar Silva, Port Isabel

Girls Basketball Player of the Year

Brianna Pena, Weslaco High

Jordan Rudd, Brownsville Veterans

Jayla Santa Maria, Edinburg High

Boys Basketball Player of the Year

Ryan Garza, Edinburg Vela

Leo Lara, Santa Rosa

Aaron Villarreal, Brownsville Veterans Memorial

Boys Soccer Player of the Year

Manuel Castrejon, La Joya Juarez-Lincoln

Jose Echavarria, Brownsville Lopez

Hugo Guajardo, Progreso


Girls Soccer Player of the Year

Krysta Armstrong, Edinburg Economedes

Anna Hover, McAllen High

Tanya Prazelini, Los Fresnos

Boys Tennis Player of the Year

Joaquin Delgado, Sharyland Pioneer

Nick Martinez, Lyford

Jack Wang, McAllen Memorial

Girls Tennis Player of the Year

Grace Bell, Harlingen South

Chantel Lozano, Roma

Valeria Montero, Harlingen South

Boys Golfer of the Year

James Alfaro, Raymondville

Santiago Garcia, Brownsville Hanna

Jun Min Lee, Sharyland High

Girls Golfer of the Year

Julie Lucio, Brownsville Veterans

Isabel Prado, La Feria

Laura Rodriguez, Sharyland High

Boys Swimmer of the Year

Shaine Casas, McAllen High

Trevor Heath, Sharyland Pioneer

Luis Osuna, Los Fresnos

Girls Swimmer of the Year

Hannah Bradford, McAllen Memorial

Maya Athena Imperial, Brownsville Hanna

Ina Te, McAllen Rowe

Boys Track and Field Athlete of the Year

Sydney Mock, Port Isabel

Tristan Pena, Edinburg North

Joseph Ian Torres, Port Isabel

Jordan Wilson, Sharyland Pioneer

Girls Track and Field Athlete of the Year

Beth Ramos, Edinburg North

Brianna Robles, La Joya Palmview

Tina Sierra, La Feria

Valery Tobias, Edinburg IDEA Quest

Boys Wrestler of the Year

Guadalupe Rodriguez, Mission High

Diego Serna, Sharyland Pioneer

Dillion Toavalu, Edinburg North

Girls Wrestler of the Year

Alexis Altamira, Edinburg Vela

Amanda Alvarado, McAllen Memorial

Rose Ramirez, La Joya High

Class 6A Female Athlete of the Year

Taylor Marburger, McAllen Memorial

Jaida Muhammad, Edinburg Vela

Tanya Prazelini, Los Fresnos

Sub-6A Female Athlete of the Year

Jackie Howell, Mission Veterans

Jordan Rudd, Brownsville Veterans

Tina Sierra, La Feria

Class 6A Male Athlete of the Year

Adrian Bernal, McAllen Rowe

Trey Guajardo, PSJA High

Tristan Myende, La Joya Palmview

Sub-6A Male Athlete of the Year

Diego Hernandez, Mission Veterans

Leo Lara, Santa Rosa

Omar Silva, Port Isabel

Softball Player of the Year

Mia Anzaldua, Brownsville Veterans

Audrey Escamilla, Weslaco High

Amber Reyes, Edinburg High

Baseball Player of the Year

Saul Garza, Edinburg North

Noe Guerrero, Brownsville Hanna

Noel Vela, Mission Veterans

Class 6A Girls Team of the Year

Los Fresnos Soccer

McAllen High soccer

Weslaco High girls basketball

Sub-6A Girls Team of the Year

Brownsville Veterans Memorial basketball

Brownsville Veterans Memorial golf

Brownsville Veterans Memorial softball

Class 6A Boys Team of the Year

La Joya Juarez-Lincoln soccer

Weslaco East football

Weslaco High basketball

Sub-6A Boys Team of the Year

Brownsville Lopez soccer

Progreso soccer

Santa Rosa Basketball


Boys Coach of the Year

Johnny Cipriano, Santa Rosa basketball

Amadeo Escandon, Brownsville Lopez soccer

Margarito Jimenez, Progreso soccer

Girls Coach of the Year

Rayner Cardenas, Brownsville Veterans softball

Mario Rodriguez, Weslaco High softball

Peter A Rodriguez, Brownsville Rivera soccer


Class 6A Program of the Year

Edinburg Vela

McAllen High

Weslaco High

Sub-6A Program of the Year

Brownsville Veterans

La Feria

Mission Veterans